Unrequited love

I was at work the other day and there is nearly 40 something year old woman who has been in love with a guy for 7 years and he has shown zero interest in her aside from one kiss a year ago.  She lives at his house when he is working at the mines and he has explained to her on numerous occasions that he only wants to be her friend and nothing more.  He is clearly using her up, and gets pampered by her when he is home, but what makes a woman stick around waiting for so long with no light at the end of the tunnel?

This story really stuck with me.  It was tragically sad that this woman has wasted her life on a man who doesn’t want her.  All her emotions, feelings, thoughts are directed at him and what does she get back in return?  Fuck all clearly.  But why do we act this way?  Why do females feel the need to be wanted, regardless if they get anything in return.  It the mentality of “If I cook him his favourite meal maybe he will love me more”  “If I clean his house and make him comfortable he might love me” “If I give him my all, surely he will notice and love me back”  I’m sorry hunny but you are deluding yourself.

All her friends have told her that it is time to move on and find someone else.  Find someone who loves her for her and gives her the respect she deserves, but she continues to pine for this love.  Do women value themselves so barely that we can do this to ourselves our whole lives?

I hope for her sake that she sees the shit through the clay and moves on sooner rather than later before it’s too late and she gets jaded about life and love.

I also wish I could take my own bloody advice, but that’s a whole other story.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

